Biogen's DEI Employment Practices: What the Company's Own Documents Show — and What They Mean for Employees
Published August 27, 2026 · Last updated August 27, 2026 · By Fett Law — Michigan Employment Discrimination Attorneys
Biogen Inc. documented three categories of demographic employment practice in its own published reports and SEC filings between 2020 and 2024: a portion of employee and executive-officer compensation tied to an ESG scorecard that the company said included "specific metrics that are part of our DE&I strategy"; numeric representation targets by race, sex and job level, including "gender parity in roles at the Director level and above" and "34% by 2025" for racial and ethnic minorities in U.S. manager-and-above roles; and leadership programs the company described as built for "Black, African American, Hispanic, Latinx and Asian American" employees. Practices of these kinds were the basis of two False Claims Act settlements with the U.S. Department of Justice — IBM's $17,077,043 in April 2026 and Deloitte's $21,500,000 effective August 21, 2026, in which the whistleblower was paid $4,300,000. Both resolved allegations only, with no determination of liability.
Key facts
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | Biogen Inc. — the Cambridge, Massachusetts–headquartered biotechnology company (225 Binney Street), with major U.S. employment in Massachusetts and at its Research Triangle Park, North Carolina manufacturing operations |
| Federal contractor status | Yes. Biogen U.S. Corporation holds a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Federal Supply Schedule contract — PIID 36F79718D0566, Schedule "65 I B, DRUGS, PHARMACEUTICALS,&HEMATOLOGY RELATED PRODUCTS" — awarded by the VA National Acquisition Center on September 10, 2018 and running through September 14, 2026. Federal contracts incorporate anti-discrimination obligations through FAR clause 52.222-26 |
| Documents reviewed | Eleven company-published documents, 2021–2026: the 2021 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report; the 2022 ESG Report; the 2023, 2024 and 2025 Corporate Responsibility Reports; the April 2021 "2020 Year in Review" announcement; five proxy statements filed with the SEC (2022–2026); and Biogen's live Culture & Inclusion page and ESG Data Table |
| Practice 1 — Pay tied to demographics | Documented. A portion of employee and executive-officer pay tied to an ESG scorecard "which includes specific metrics that are part of our DE&I strategy" (2021). The FY2022 bonus plan weighted an ESG category at 5%, listing "Enterprise-wide DE&I and employee engagement advancements," scored at a 125.0% multiplier |
| Practice 2 — Diverse slates | Not documented. No diverse-slate mandate or race- or sex-keyed candidate-pool rule appears in any Biogen document reviewed. This page does not claim one existed |
| Practice 3 — Representation goals | Documented. Three "30% INCREASE" targets published in 2021, restated in 2022 as "gender parity in roles at the Director level and above" by 2025 and "34% by 2025" for racial and ethnic minorities in U.S. manager-and-above roles. These were company-wide goals by job level and geography — not, on the published record, goals assigned to named business units |
| Practice 4 — Restricted-eligibility programs | Documented. The BioDiversity Fellows Program, built "to strengthen the leadership capacity of our Black, African American, Hispanic, Latinx and Asian American employees"; Management Leaders of Tomorrow, "for mid-career Black, African-American, Hispanic, and Latinx employees"; the North Carolina Mid-Career Leadership Accelerator; and the Women's Leadership Program |
| Source-document status | Mixed — live, renamed, and silently dropped. The 2021, 2022 and 2023 reports all still load from biogen.com. What vanished is the language: the 2025 targets stopped being restated after 2022, the race-targeted programs left the 2024 and 2025 reports, and "ESG" and "DE&I" appear nowhere in the 2025 or 2026 proxies after appearing in every proxy from 2021 through 2024. Download rather than bookmark |
- Did Biogen tie executive pay to diversity targets?
- Did Biogen set racial and gender representation targets?
- Did Biogen run programs restricted by race or sex?
- Which Biogen DEI statements disappeared — and which are still up?
- How Biogen's DEI program changed, 2016–2026
- Why these practices matter legally
- Were you affected by these practices at Biogen?
- What could a claim against Biogen be worth?
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
Did Biogen tie executive pay to diversity targets?
Biogen put the connection in writing in the first DE&I report it ever published:
"To advance our goals, we tied a portion of our employees' and executive officers' 2021 compensation to advancing our environmental, social and governance (ESG) strategy, which includes specific metrics that are part of our DE&I strategy."— Biogen, 2021 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report, p. 5 (source)
The company repeated the compensation linkage in each of the next four annual reports — "In 2022, Biogen once again tied a portion of our employees' and executive officers' compensation to advancing our ESG strategy" (2022 ESG Report, p. 6); "In 2023, we once again tied a portion of our employees' and executive officers' compensation to advancing our corporate responsibility strategy" (2023 Corporate Responsibility Report, p. 7); and again in 2024 and 2025 under the "corporate responsibility goals" label.
What the ESG component actually contained is set out in Biogen's proxy statements, which is where the mechanism becomes concrete. The 2023 proxy, reporting on fiscal year 2022 pay, names the bonus category and scores it:
"Execute on Critical ESG Strategy to Drive our Healthy Climates, Healthy Lives and DE&I Initiatives" — weighted 5% of the annual bonus plan, with components including "Enterprise-wide DE&I and employee engagement advancements." Result for 2022: "Above Goal," a 125.0% multiplier.— Biogen Inc., 2023 Annual Meeting of Stockholders and Proxy Statement (filed April 28, 2023), p. vi (source)
The same category name appears in the 2022 proxy (fiscal year 2021) and the 2024 proxy (fiscal year 2023). The 2024 proxy also tells shareholders what was in the plan for the year ahead:
"The 2024 Bonus Plan contains a simplified framework linking short-term compensation with performance. The 2024 Bonus Plan's ESG goal includes metrics focused on clinical trial diversity, expanding global market access for spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) patients, and workforce DE&I initiatives"— Biogen Inc., Proxy Statement (Form DEF 14A, filed April 26, 2024), p. ii (source)
In plain terms: for at least four plan years, part of what Biogen paid its executive officers — and, on the company's own description, its broader employee population — moved with a scorecard that had workforce DE&I inside it. Biogen has never published the weighting of the DE&I sub-component within the 5% ESG category, or the numeric thresholds behind it. Those figures, if they exist in writing, sit in internal compensation documents. The people who set them, scored them and were paid against them are the people who know.
One limit worth stating plainly: the ESG category was broad. It bundled DE&I with climate, patient access and clinical-trial goals, and at 5% it was a small slice of the bonus. Biogen's published language links pay to DE&I; it does not disclose how much of the money turned on demographic numbers.
Did Biogen set racial and gender representation targets?
The 2021 report printed the goals as a set, in capitals, under the heading of building a diverse workforce:
"30% INCREASE IN WOMEN IN DIRECTOR-LEVEL and above roles globally, until gender parity reached"
"30% INCREASE in underrepresented RACIAL AND ETHNIC MINORITIES IN U.S. MANAGER POSITIONS and above"
"30% INCREASE IN representation of people identifying as VETERANS, PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES AND LGBTQ+ in the U.S."— Biogen, 2021 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report, p. 7 (source)
A year later the company converted them into fixed percentages with a fixed date:
"By 2025, Biogen aims to achieve gender parity in roles at the Director level and above."
"Our target is to increase racial and ethnic diversity to 34% by 2025 among U.S.-based roles at the Manager level and above."— Biogen, 2022 ESG Report, p. 31 (source)
Biogen then reported progress against those numbers year by year. At the end of 2020, "48 percent of director-level positions and above globally were held by women" and 28 percent of U.S. director-level-and-above positions were held by racial and ethnic minority groups. By 2022 the figures were 47.4% and 30.4% (manager and above, U.S.); by 2023, "48.6% of positions at the Director level and above were held by women, and 31.2% of U.S. roles at the Manager level and above were held by ethnic or racial minorities."
What a numeric representation target means operationally is that someone has to close the gap. A published goal to raise one demographic share at a defined job level, tracked annually and reported to shareholders, is a measurement that only moves through decisions about individual people — who is hired, who is promoted into a manager or director role, and who is not. Title VII does not prohibit an employer from wanting a more representative workforce. The legal question is narrower: whether the target changed who actually got a job.
Two honest qualifications belong here. First, on the published record these were company-wide goals defined by job level and geography — Biogen did not publish goals assigned to named business units, and this page does not suggest it did. Second, Biogen has never published the internal mechanics: no documents describing how the targets were cascaded to hiring managers, what recruiters were told, or what happened when a number was missed.
Did Biogen run programs restricted by race or sex?
The programs and the company's own descriptions of them:
| Program | How Biogen described it |
|---|---|
| BioDiversity Fellows Program (The Partnership, Inc.; Biogen helped create it in 2016) | "In 2016, Biogen helped create the program to strengthen the leadership capacity of our Black, African American, Hispanic, Latinx and Asian American employees." |
| Management Leaders of Tomorrow | "we provide a 12-month training program for mid-career Black, African-American, Hispanic, and Latinx employees who benefit from group coaching, a professional career playbook and door-opening connections to elevate their careers." |
| North Carolina Mid-Career Leadership Accelerator Program (with The Partnership, Inc.) | "designed to advance Black, African American, Hispanic, Latinx and Asian American leaders" |
| Women's Leadership Program | "develop the next generation of women leaders through our Women's Leadership Program, which cultivates high-potential women for leadership roles." |
Source: Biogen, 2021 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report, pp. 9–12 (source); the BioDiversity Fellows description is repeated in the 2022 ESG Report, p. 32, and the 2023 Corporate Responsibility Report, p. 21, which also describes the Xavier University of Louisiana "Biogen Sharp-Verret Award" as "a scholarship for underrepresented students pursuing neuroscience careers."
The distinction that matters legally is between a program that is aimed at a group and one that is closed to everyone else. In the Deloitte matter the United States alleged programs "where eligibility to participate was limited on the basis of race and sex" and "designed to boost the career prospects of these individuals over others." Biogen's published descriptions state which groups its programs were built for; they do not publish written eligibility criteria, so the public record does not resolve whether an employee outside those groups could have applied and been admitted. What is not in doubt is that career development inside a company is finite — coaching, sponsorship and access to senior leaders are allocated, not unlimited. The employees who were never considered, and the HR staff and sponsors who chose participants, are the people who know how eligibility actually worked.
Which Biogen DEI statements disappeared — and which are still up?
Verified in August 2026:
- The published targets were dropped without an announcement. The "gender parity by 2025" and "34% by 2025" targets appear in the 2022 ESG Report. They do not appear in the 2023, 2024 or 2025 Corporate Responsibility Reports — not restated, not declared achieved, not withdrawn. Note the date: the 2023 report was published in May 2024, before the January 2025 executive order on federal-contractor DEI programs.
- The measuring stick changed. The racial and ethnic figure was reported at U.S. manager level and above through 2023 (31.2%), then at U.S. director level and above in 2024 (30.9%) — a different denominator from the one the abandoned 34% target used. In the 2025 report the racial and ethnic figure is not reported at all.
- The proxy vocabulary was swapped. A search of Biogen's SEC filings shows "ESG" and "DE&I" in every proxy statement from 2021 through 2024, and in neither the 2025 proxy (filed April 28, 2025) nor the 2026 proxy (filed April 28, 2026). The phrase "corporate responsibility goals" appears in the 2025 and 2026 proxies and in none of the earlier ones.
- The programs are gone from the reporting. The BioDiversity Fellows Program, Management Leaders of Tomorrow, the North Carolina Leadership Accelerator and the HBCU partnership all appear in reports through 2023 and in none of the 2024 or 2025 reports, which describe only Employee Resource Groups open to "allies."
- The live page was renamed. biogen.com's employee-culture page is now headed "Culture & Inclusion" and uses neither "diversity" nor "equity." The 2024 report calls the section "Championing our culture of belonging."
- But one page still publishes the abandoned goal. A subpage of Biogen's ESG report section, "Advancing women's leadership at Biogen," was still live in August 2026 and still states: "By 2025, Biogen aims to achieve gender parity in roles at the Director level and above."
- And the raw data is still posted. Biogen's Culture & Inclusion page continues to publish its EEO-1 reports for 2018 through 2024 — the federal workforce filings that break out employees by race, ethnicity, sex and job category.
If any part of your own situation depends on what these documents said, download the PDFs. Language that was quietly removed from four consecutive annual reports can be removed from the file server too.
How Biogen's DEI program changed, 2016–2026
| Date | Development |
|---|---|
| 2016 | Biogen helps create The Partnership, Inc.'s BioDiversity Fellows Program, described as strengthening "the leadership capacity of our Black, African American, Hispanic, Latinx and Asian American employees" |
| April 28, 2021 | Biogen's "2020 Year in Review" announcement states the company "tied a portion of employees' and executive officers' 2021 compensation to an ESG metric" and aims to "increase diversity in U.S. manager positions and above by 30 percent" |
| 2021 | Biogen publishes its first standalone Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report: three "30% INCREASE" targets, the DE&I compensation linkage, and the race- and gender-targeted leadership programs |
| April 29, 2022 | The proxy statement for fiscal 2021 pay carries the bonus category "Execute on Critical ESG Strategy to Drive our Healthy Climates, Healthy Lives and DE&I Initiatives" |
| 2022 (report published 2023) | The 2022 ESG Report converts the goals into fixed numbers with a deadline: gender parity at Director level and above by 2025, and 34% racial and ethnic diversity by 2025 in U.S. manager-and-above roles |
| April 28, 2023 | The proxy for fiscal 2022 pay weights the ESG bonus category at 5%, names "Enterprise-wide DE&I and employee engagement advancements" among its components, and scores it "Above Goal" at a 125.0% multiplier |
| April 26, 2024 | The proxy tells shareholders the 2024 bonus plan's ESG goal "includes metrics focused on clinical trial diversity... and workforce DE&I initiatives," and notes "mixed support for ESG metrics" from stockholders |
| May 2024 | The 2023 Corporate Responsibility Report is published. The 2025 numeric targets are already absent — eight months before the January 2025 executive order |
| January 21, 2025 | Executive Order 14173 directs federal agencies to target DEI programs at federal contractors |
| April 2025 | The 2024 Corporate Responsibility Report renames the section "Championing our culture of belonging," reports representation at a changed job level, and drops every race-targeted leadership program |
| April 28, 2025 | The proxy statement for fiscal 2024 pay contains no occurrence of "ESG" or "DE&I" anywhere in the document; "corporate responsibility goals" appears instead |
| April 2026 | The 2025 Corporate Responsibility Report reports "women represented 50% of employees at the director level and above globally" without connecting it to the abandoned parity goal, and omits the racial and ethnic figure entirely |
| April 28, 2026 | The 2026 proxy statement again contains no "ESG" or "DE&I" |
| August 2026 | biogen.com's employee page is headed "Culture & Inclusion" and uses neither "diversity" nor "equity" — while a separate ESG-section subpage still publishes the 2025 gender-parity goal, and EEO-1 reports for 2018–2024 remain posted. Verified August 2026 |
Why these practices matter legally
Two recent Supreme Court decisions changed the landscape for these claims. In Muldrow v. City of St. Louis (2024), the Court held that an employee challenging a discriminatory job transfer need show only some harm to the terms or conditions of employment, not a "significant" disadvantage. In Ames v. Ohio Department of Youth Services (2025), a unanimous Court rejected the "background circumstances" rule — previously applied in several federal circuits — that required majority-group plaintiffs to clear a higher evidentiary bar before a Title VII claim could proceed. Separately, 42 U.S.C. § 1981 prohibits race discrimination in the making and enforcement of contracts, including employment relationships, and carries a four-year window with no agency filing requirement. (Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2.)
The False Claims Act route for federal contractors
On April 10, 2026, the U.S. Department of Justice announced that IBM would pay $17,077,043 to resolve False Claims Act allegations that it failed to comply with anti-discrimination requirements in its federal contracts — the first settlement under the DOJ's Civil Rights Fraud Initiative. In August 2026 the government resolved a second, larger matter: under a settlement agreement effective August 21, 2026, five Deloitte entities agreed to pay $21,500,000, of which $9,995,000 was restitution, covering conduct from January 1, 2017 through the settlement date. The certification hook is specific — Title VII as incorporated into federal contracts and FAR clause 52.222-26 — and the government's theory reached not only what Deloitte certified to its contracting agencies but what it "publicly represented" about its compliance. The agreement adds a second and independent theory: that Deloitte "allocated costs to its federal government contracts relating to these practices and sought payment and reimbursement under its federal government contracts for such costs." The whistleblower was paid $4,300,000. Both settlements resolved allegations only, with no determination of liability, and Deloitte denies the conduct.
The parallel fact for this page is Biogen's own status. Biogen U.S. Corporation holds a VA Federal Supply Schedule contract (PIID 36F79718D0566) awarded by the National Acquisition Center and running through September 2026, with orders placed against it — for example VA order 36C26124N0494 for Biogen's QALSODY (tofersen), signed March 13, 2024 — and federal contracts carry the anti-discrimination clause at FAR 52.222-26. Because the Deloitte theory reached public representations of compliance as well as contract certifications, a federal contractor's own published DEI reporting is part of the picture — which is why Biogen's reports, quoted above, are the relevant documents rather than a starting point for speculation.
And then the limit, which matters as much as the theory: a Justice Department settlement resolves only the United States' claims. The Deloitte agreement expressly reserves any pending or future EEOC charges, including "charges which may allege the same covered conduct described in this Agreement" (¶ 5(d)); reserves "any liability of individuals" (¶ 5(g)); and reserves administrative liability and suspension and debarment (¶ 5(c)). Remaining claims were dismissed without prejudice to the United States (¶ 12). No employee or applicant was compensated by either settlement.
To be clear about what is and is not established: no court or agency has found that Biogen's practices violated any law, and no such claim is made here. But practices like those documented above — a compensation component containing workforce DE&I metrics, numeric representation targets by race, sex and job level, and leadership programs built for named racial groups — are among the categories that can give rise to liability under Title VII and § 1981, and, for federal contractors, to False Claims Act exposure.
For the complete framework — the four illegal DEI practice categories and when you can sue — see our guide, Is DEI Illegal? 4 Illegal DEI Practices & When You Can Sue.
Were you affected by these practices at Biogen?
If you worked at Biogen Inc. — in Cambridge, at Research Triangle Park, or anywhere else in the United States — or applied there between roughly 2020 and 2025, the documented practices above may have touched your career in ways worth examining:
- You were passed over for promotion into a manager or director role during the years Biogen published numeric targets to raise the share of those roles held by particular demographic groups, and cannot account for the decision against your record.
- You applied and were not selected for a role at or above manager level in the United States while those targets were live.
- You were never offered a place in a leadership-development program — the BioDiversity Fellows Program, Management Leaders of Tomorrow, the North Carolina Leadership Accelerator — that Biogen's own report describes as built for employees of particular races.
- You were an executive officer, people manager or HR professional whose own bonus carried the ESG scorecard that Biogen said contained DE&I metrics — someone with first-hand knowledge of what those metrics actually measured, what the thresholds were, and what managers were told about them.
- You worked in talent acquisition or human resources and know how the representation targets were passed down to hiring decisions, or how program participants were chosen.
- You are a current or former employee with insider knowledge of how DEI-program costs were treated on Biogen's federal contract work.
Two things are worth knowing before you decide whether to call. Because Biogen U.S. Corporation is a federal contractor, an employee with non-public, first-hand knowledge may hold a False Claims Act claim as well as a discrimination claim: the statute allows a private party to sue on the government's behalf and to share in any recovery, and qui tam complaints are filed under seal, so the employer is not told while the government investigates. And you are protected either way — Title VII § 704(a) and 31 U.S.C. § 3730(h) both prohibit retaliation for asserting these rights or reporting.
A federal settlement is not a substitute for your own claim: when the Justice Department resolved the Deloitte matter, it expressly preserved the EEOC's right to pursue charges alleging the very same conduct, and preserved individual liability. Nothing about that settlement compensated a single employee or applicant.
If any of these fits, it costs nothing to find out where you stand — meet our DEI discrimination lawyers, or start below.
Talk to an Employment Discrimination Lawyer
Start with a confidential intake — free evaluation, and if you have a potential claim, a free consultation in person or by Zoom, anywhere in the country. No fees unless the firm wins.
Start Your Confidential Intake Contact Us Call (734) 954-0100
Fett Law · 407 N. Main St., 2nd Floor, Ann Arbor, MI 48104 · attys@fettlaw.com
What could a claim against Biogen be worth?
Whistleblower rewards under the False Claims Act
Under 31 U.S.C. § 3730(d), a qui tam relator receives 15–25% of the government's recovery when the Department of Justice intervenes, and 25–30% when the relator proceeds without intervention. The Deloitte settlement supplies a paid benchmark rather than a projection: the relator received $4,300,000 — exactly 20% of a $21,500,000 recovery. That settlement also shows why False Claims Act exposure outruns the money actually lost. Of the $21.5 million, $9,995,000 was restitution — roughly the government's single damages — so the resolution came to about 2.15 times the actual loss, because FCA recoveries are built on multiplied damages plus per-claim penalties. As a second illustration, arithmetic alone: an intervened case resolving at IBM's $17,077,043 would pay a relator roughly $2.6–$4.3 million. A contractor with a larger federal book or a longer conduct period could produce a materially larger number. A relator's expenses, attorney's fees and costs are resolved separately from the relator's share.
Damages in individual discrimination cases
Back pay and front pay are uncapped under Title VII. Compensatory and punitive damages under Title VII are capped by employer size — $300,000 for employers with more than 500 employees, the bracket Biogen occupies — but race claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 carry no damages caps at all, which is one reason race discrimination cases are often pleaded under it. Massachusetts law under M.G.L. c. 151B is likewise uncapped, and it governs a large share of Biogen's U.S. workforce. Prevailing plaintiffs generally recover attorney's fees on top. For a sense of what employment discrimination cases can produce, Fett Law's own results include a $10.5 million race and age discrimination class action against Ford Motor Company, a $1.1 million jury judgment against the Michigan State Police, and a $460,000 reverse-discrimination settlement for three corrections officers. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.
Class action potential
Class actions are built on a single policy applied to many people — and a representation target defined by job level across an entire country, or a leadership program described by the racial groups it was built for, is by construction not an individual decision. Historic employment-discrimination class settlements show the range such cases can reach: Coca-Cola paid $192.5 million (2000), Texaco $176.1 million (1996), and Novartis $175 million (2010) to resolve class claims.
Every case depends on its own facts — these figures show the range the law makes possible, not a promise of any outcome. The fastest way to learn where your situation falls is to start a confidential intake or request a free consultation.
Frequently asked questions
Is it illegal for Biogen to consider race or sex in hiring or promotions?
DEI programs are not illegal in themselves — "is DEI illegal" has no single answer. Title VII prohibits employment decisions made because of race or sex, and it protects employees of every race and both sexes equally. Whether any particular Biogen practice crossed the line depends on whether a protected characteristic actually changed a decision, which is fact-specific. No court has ruled that it did. See our full guide: Is DEI illegal? 4 illegal DEI practices & when you can sue.
Did Biogen tie executive pay to diversity targets?
According to its own documents, in part. Biogen's 2021 DEI Report states it "tied a portion of our employees' and executive officers' 2021 compensation" to an ESG strategy "which includes specific metrics that are part of our DE&I strategy." The fiscal 2022 annual bonus plan weighted an ESG category at 5%, listing "Enterprise-wide DE&I and employee engagement advancements" among its components and scoring it at a 125.0% multiplier. Biogen never published the DE&I sub-weighting or its thresholds.
What is a "diverse slate" requirement, and did Biogen have one?
A diverse-slate rule requires that the pool of candidates considered for a role include people of a specified race or sex before a hiring decision can be made; the legal question is whether that condition changed who was actually interviewed or hired. No diverse-slate mandate appears in any Biogen document reviewed for this page, and this page does not claim Biogen had one. What Biogen did publish were numeric representation targets and race-targeted leadership programs.
How long do I have to file a discrimination claim?
Deadlines differ by claim and some are short. Under Title VII (and the ADEA and ADA) you must file an EEOC charge within 180 days of the discriminatory act — extended to 300 days in states with their own fair-employment agency — then sue within 90 days of a right-to-sue letter. Biogen's two largest U.S. locations fall on opposite sides of that line: Massachusetts has the MCAD, so the deadline is 300 days, while North Carolina has no state agency for private-sector claims, so the federal 180-day deadline generally applies. A race claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 allows 4 years and requires no EEOC charge. A False Claims Act qui tam claim allows 6 years from the violation, or 3 years from when the government knew or should have known, capped at 10 years; FCA retaliation claims allow 3 years. The Equal Pay Act allows 2 years (3 if willful), and under the Ledbetter Act each discriminatory paycheck restarts the Title VII clock for pay claims. Deadlines are fact- and state-specific, some are very short, and waiting can forfeit a claim — contact us promptly to have your specific deadline assessed.
How far back can these claims go?
Further than most people assume. Section 1981 reaches back 4 years with no agency filing required. The False Claims Act can reach conduct up to 10 years back. And the continuing-violation doctrine and the Ledbetter paycheck rule can extend Title VII exposure for ongoing policies and their pay effects. Practices documented in Biogen's 2021 through 2024 reporting may therefore still be within reach today.
What if Biogen has already ended these programs?
Ending a program does not erase decisions made while it operated. Biogen's later reports dropped the 2025 numeric targets, removed the race-targeted leadership programs, and renamed the section "Culture & Inclusion" — but that shift does not undo a promotion decision or a program exclusion from 2021 or 2022. The claim belongs to the decision and is governed by the applicable filing deadline, not by whether the policy still exists.
What are the IBM and Deloitte DEI settlements, and why do they matter here?
IBM paid $17,077,043 on April 10, 2026 — the first settlement under the DOJ's Civil Rights Fraud Initiative. Five Deloitte entities then agreed to pay $21,500,000 under an agreement effective August 21, 2026, covering conduct from January 1, 2017 through the settlement date, with $4,300,000 paid to the whistleblower. Both resolved allegations only, with no determination of liability, and Deloitte denies the conduct. They matter here because Biogen U.S. Corporation is likewise a federal contractor.
Did Biogen delete its DEI reports?
No — the reports are still online, and that is what makes the record unusual. The 2021 DEI Report, 2022 ESG Report and 2023 Corporate Responsibility Report all still load from biogen.com, and EEO-1 filings for 2018–2024 remain posted. What disappeared is the language: the 2025 numeric targets stopped being restated after the 2022 report, the race-targeted programs vanished from the 2024 and 2025 reports, and "ESG" and "DE&I" appear nowhere in the 2025 or 2026 proxy statements. Download rather than bookmark.
Am I protected from retaliation if I come forward?
Yes. Title VII § 704(a) makes it unlawful for an employer to retaliate against an employee for opposing discrimination, filing a charge, or participating in an investigation. The False Claims Act's provision, 31 U.S.C. § 3730(h), separately protects employees, contractors and agents from discharge, demotion and harassment for lawful acts in furtherance of an FCA action, with remedies including reinstatement, double back pay and special damages. Qui tam complaints are filed under seal, so the employer is not told while the government investigates.
What if I signed an arbitration agreement or severance release?
These documents may limit some options, but they often do not bar everything. Releases cannot waive certain rights, arbitration clauses do not stop the EEOC or the Department of Justice from acting on their own authority, and some agreements are unenforceable as written. Bring the document to your consultation — its real effect needs professional review.
Sources
Links were checked in August 2026. Page citations refer to the PDF as published. Every Biogen document below still loaded from the address given when this page was written; the language quoted from them has in several cases been removed from later reports.
- Biogen, 2021 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Report — PDF (compensation linkage p. 5; the three "30% INCREASE" targets p. 7; leadership programs pp. 9–12)
- Biogen, 2022 ESG Report — PDF (compensation linkage pp. 6, 10; gender-parity and 34% targets p. 31; BioDiversity Fellows p. 32)
- Biogen, 2023 Corporate Responsibility Report — PDF (compensation linkage p. 7; representation figures pp. 4–5; programs p. 21)
- Biogen, 2024 Corporate Responsibility Report — PDF · 2025 Corporate Responsibility Report — PDF (the reports in which the targets and programs no longer appear)
- Biogen Inc., 2023 Annual Meeting of Stockholders and Proxy Statement (filed April 28, 2023) — PDF (ESG bonus category, weighting and 125.0% multiplier, p. vi)
- Biogen Inc., Proxy Statement (Form DEF 14A, filed April 26, 2024) — SEC (2024 Bonus Plan ESG goal including "workforce DE&I initiatives," p. ii). All Biogen filings: EDGAR, CIK 0000875045
- Biogen, "Biogen Releases 2020 Year in Review" (April 28, 2021) — press release
- Biogen, Culture & Inclusion (current page, including EEO-1 reports 2018–2024) · ESG Data Table · "Advancing women's leadership at Biogen" (the page still stating the 2025 gender-parity goal)
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs FSS contract to Biogen U.S. Corporation, PIID 36F79718D0566 — USAspending · delivery order 36C26124N0494 — USAspending · VA National Acquisition Center, Schedule 65 I B · FAR 52.222-26
- U.S. Department of Justice, "IBM Pays $17 Million to Resolve Allegations of Discrimination Through Illegal DEI Practices" (April 10, 2026) — press release. Settlement Agreement among the United States, Deloitte LLP, Deloitte Consulting LLP, Deloitte & Touche LLP, Deloitte Financial Advisory Services LLP, Deloitte Transactions and Business Analytics LLP, and the American Alliance for Equal Rights, effective August 21, 2026 (United States ex rel. American Alliance for Equal Rights v. Deloitte LLP, et al., No. 4:25-CV-458-O (N.D. Tex.)) — settlement amount, restitution allocation, relator share, covered period, Covered Conduct, and reserved claims.
- 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2 · 42 U.S.C. § 1981 · 31 U.S.C. § 3730 · Ames v. Ohio Dep't of Youth Services (June 5, 2025) · Muldrow v. City of St. Louis, 601 U.S. 346 (2024)
- EEOC, Time Limits for Filing a Charge · Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination filing deadline
About Fett Law
Fett Law represents employees nationwide in DEI discrimination and False Claims Act whistleblower cases — and was litigating DEI discrimination decades before it had a name. The firm’s results include a $10.5 million race and age discrimination class action against Ford Motor Company, a $1.1 million jury judgment against the Michigan State Police, and a $460,000 reverse-discrimination settlement for three corrections officers. In November 2025, the firm filed Spilko v. Comerica (E.D. Mich.), a $30 million DEI discrimination lawsuit that drew national press coverage, and it has leveraged AI to assemble the documentary record on many of the Fortune 1000 companies. Fett Law’s cases have been covered by CBS News, The New York Times, Fox News, and the New York Post. Consultations are free and confidential; representation is on contingency — no fees unless the firm wins. Meet our DEI discrimination lawyers →
Attorney Advertising.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship.
Quoted materials are drawn from Biogen Inc.'s own published documents and public filings; characterizations of potential legal liability are opinion and do not assert that Biogen has been found to have violated any law. The U.S. Department of Justice's April 2026 settlement with IBM and its August 2026 settlement with Deloitte each resolved allegations only, with no admission or determination of liability; Deloitte denies the Covered Conduct and denies the allegations in the underlying action. Litigation referenced on this page — including Spilko v. Comerica Management Co., Inc. (E.D. Mich.), in which Fett Law represents the plaintiff — consists of allegations that have not been proven. No statement on this page is a promise of any recovery or relator share in any particular case.
Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.
Published August 27, 2026 · Last updated August 27, 2026 · Fett Law, 407 N. Main St., 2nd Floor, Ann Arbor, MI 48104 · (734) 954-0100